Tropical Veggie Summer Salad with Coconut and Pineapple

DSC03353

Holy motivation during nap time batman! My little strawberry slept for TWO AND A HALF HOURS yesterday, this may not seem so abnormal for a 10 month old baby, but let me tell you.. this one usually only sleeps for 30 minutes at a time. Having this long of a nap was a glorious “me time” break.

What did I do for that two and a half hours? Well, I cut some rhubarb stalks from the garden, did some dishes, put laundry away, washed the husbands hockey gear…. And made this salad!

It screams summer, and it almost had me convinced I had been swept away to a far away tropical isalnd with swaying palm trees, ocean breezes and whole coconuts with a straw stuck inside.

Then reality kicked in and the baby started crying. “MOM. MOM I’M AWAKE. MOM I DON’T WANT TO BE IN MY CRIB ANYMORE MOM!” ha

But that’s alright, I can still dream….. And this salad made it pretty easy.

It’s so light and refreshing, and loaded with vitamins, nutrients and bonus electrolytes from the coconut! Exactly what my body needs in these hot summer months.

DSC03347

Topical Veggie Summer Salad with Coconut and Pineapple

1/2 head fresh cauliflower, coarsley chopped
1 carrot, grated
1/2 green bell pepper, thinly sliced
1/2 zucchini, thinly sliced (I used yellow zucchini)
1/2 cup fresh pineapple, diced
1/4 toasted coconut flakes
Additional toasted coconut flakes for topping

Dressing:

1/2 cup coconut milk (I used full fat)
1/4 cup pineapple juice
1/2 tsp mint (or basil)
1/4 tsp salt

To make

It’s almost too simple, Gather your salad goods:

DSC03338

Throw (or gently place, whichever) in a large bowl.

Stir together your dressing ingredients and pour over the salad. Mix it all about, top with more coconut, and get ready to be whisked away to where your worries can’t find you.

DSC03350

Oh and by the way, it’s 100% Munchkin approved! 🙂

DSC03358

What food/Drink absolutely screams summer to you?

Happy Tuesday!

Hugs Kisses and Cookies

Kaycee

2 thoughts on “Tropical Veggie Summer Salad with Coconut and Pineapple

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday | FitFace

Leave a Reply

