Stormy Day and Breakfast Bars

Am I the only one that loves stormy days? I get stupid excited when the weather man says “thunder storm watch/warning”. Unfortunately he’s usually wrong….

But yesterday we finally got a GOOD one here in Yarmouth-town. It doesn’t happen very often, we get more hurricanes and tropical storms which don’t bring very much thunder and lightning, just heavy wind. very heavy wind.

It was the perfect kind of day to stay inside and bake up a breakfasty bar storm. ūüėČ ha.

Funny Story.

My first batch was AWWWEESOOMMEEEE. It’s recipe was adapted from¬†this¬†one over at the Bean, I just subbed in some ingredients that I had on hand. My recipe is below.

After my bake-fest the munchkin and I went out for a little afternoon walk since the storm had let up and I adore the fresh smell of the air after a good rain.

When we got home I found this:

DSC03149

 

That dog of mine is a FIEND for bread. anything bread. or grain. or starch. I could leave a whole raw OR cooked steak in the middle of the floor and he wouldn’t even touch it.

Yup, he ate every single one.

(The second bag had the rest of my almond flour bread… which only had 3 slices taken from it….)

But bread, man. Don’t get me started on the bag of flour he ripped apart and tracked allllllll around the house.

DSC01735DSC01736

^^ that’s only a part of it, the stairs down to the basement are carpeted, which is where he tore into the bag. He then proceeded to try and lick the flour off the carpet but his licking made the flour form a dough getting completely STUCK to the carpet instead. We spent days trying to pick it all out by hand. You can still see the bits.

bah!

Anyways, I Digress….

Here’s my version of the¬†drool-worthy,everything but my kitchen sink bar

DSC03134

Mango-licious Breakfast bar

1/2  banana, smooshed
1/3 cup Almond butter (I used almond/pecan butter, it was heavenly. but you can use peanut or any other nut/seed butter you have on hand)
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup Almond milk

1 cup cooked Wheat Berries (or quinoa)
1 cup dry oats
1/2 flour of choice (I used a gluten free blend with a dash of xantham gum)
1/4 coconut sugar (or any other granulated sugar)
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tbsp chia seeds
1/4 dried mangos, chopped

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

In a medium bowl, mix the banana, almond butter, vanilla and milk until smooth. Add the remaining ingredients and stir well to combine. (you don’t want any clumps of baking soda left in there. Although I did have a clump of baked coconut sugar in the ONE bar I got to eat, it was pure caramelly coconut heaven)

Glop the batter into a greased 8×8 baking pan and bake for 20 minutes.

If you can handle it, let it cool before you cut and dig in. But if you can’t, well, I wouldn’t be able to relate to that ūüėČ

DSC03113

I so wanted to have another bar after we got home, so I immediately baked another batch using 2 cups oats instead of the wheat berries…. It wasn’t nearly as successful. I’ll keep working and get the all oat recipe up ASAP since you’re more likely to have those than wheat berries. ha!

Oh, and today he ate the last of our package of tortillas… I swear we don’t leave these things on the floor, but it doesn’t seem to matter. haha

My house phone has been missing for a couple weeks now…weird.. I wonder if he ate that too?

DSC03068

Do you have an animal that prefers very unorthodox food? flour, or house phones perhaps?

Am I the only odd-ball that perches my lawn chair in the garage with the door open to watch a thunder storm?  What are you of your odd obsessions?

Hugs Kisses and Cookies

Kaycee

3 thoughts on “Stormy Day and Breakfast Bars

  1. Pingback: Insane in the Membrane | FitFace

  2. Pingback: Not so Much | FitFace

  3. Pingback: Sunday Food Prep | FitFace

Leave a Reply

