What’s that smell?? {DIY Air Freshener}

Is what I used to say every time I walked into my daughters room.

Then I remembered there’s 2 garbage cans in there stuffed to the brim with poopy diapers and wipes, (yes two, one for the cloth diapers and one for the disposables and wipes. We use both).

I’m exaggerating when I say stuffed to the brim, one poopy diaper was enough to make it smell like the cat had been electrocuted and left under the crib for a month.
crazy Mango

(To the great dismay of my husband, the cat is perfectly fine. It really is just the diapers.)

It’s a very small room, so it doesn’t take much to fill up with the stench of hatred. Therefore I figured, it wouldn’t take much for something to suck that smell up and replace it with a nice gentle aroma of lavender, or vanilla, or… hell even the dogs breath would be better.

Wrong.

air freshener3

I didn’t want to use one of those commercial air fresheners because I know they’re disgraceful for your lungs. Asthma sufferers are advised against using them at all! (I’ve never been an asthma sufferer *lucky me* but while living in a dark and danky basement in college I did get a bad bout of… something.. the doctors couldn’t figure out what it was so they dubbed it asthma) So even though she shows no signs of it either, I certainly don’t want to be the one to give it to her!

I tried a homemade “febreeze” (made with just water and fabric softener) and while that smelled lovely, it only masked the smell momentarily and I was eventually left with a concoction of wild orchid & vanilla, and diarrhea. not nice. Also, fabric softener is equally as unhealthy as the commercial air fresheners, and if we aren’t supposed to use the stuff on babies clothes, we probably shouldn’t be spraying it straight into their room either. Fail.

I tried the box of Baking Soda on the dresser, I sprinkled some inside the garbage can, and every once in a while on top of the disposables. (Didn’t try it on the cloth diapers, I don’t know if it would have any effect on them and I didnt want to take the chance, so I avoided.) while it was unsightly, it did work a bit better than the “febreeze” but it still didn’t work.

air freshener2

I tried making my own sprays using just water and Essential Oils, I’ve been used them around the house for a while now and they really do smell nice, plus you can customize your own scents depending on the oils you use.

(fill a spray bottle 3/4 full with water and add in 10-20 drops of your favorite oils, or a combination of yourfavorite. I love lavender orange.)

But once again, it only lasts for approx. 1 day. There’s just no staying power! It’s important to note too, it can be minorly hazardous on wood floors if you don’t wear very grippy shoes and slippers at all times, or don’t wash your floors frequently. It leaves a very fine layer of oil wherever it was sprayed and the buildup can be very slippery. I learned the hard way walking down the stairs while pregnant, and I slipped down the bottom 3. Yikes! I wouldn’t want to be carrying a sleeping baby and then slip and fall/drop her… or wake her up. All are equally detrimental.

Then, in comes Rebecca with the best homemade air freshener I’ve ever made! Rebecca has a family full of boys, and we all know how stinky they can be.. to be very blunt. ha!

I knew it had to work.

And I was right.

Finally!

air freshener4

I altered her recipe just slightly to suit my needs, and came out with an air freshener that immediately sucked up all those poop particles (ha) in the air, with a very very soft aroma from the oils, leaving my Princess’ room smelling fresh, clean, and no longer the scene of an stinky kitty execution. Can I get a Hallelujah!

 

Homemade Air Freshener

1 packet of gelatin (approx. 1/4 ounce)

1 cup of cold water

1 cup of hot strongly brewed chamomile tea*

1 tbsp salt

essential oils of choice*

Heat proof jars to house your air fresheners

Optional: Colorings of choice to tint your air freshener

To Make:
Make sure your tea is hot hot hot, sprinkle the gelatin over top and whisk in until dissolved. Add the salt and then your 1 cup of cold water (or another cup of tea that has been cooled), keep whisking until the gelatin and salt are completely dissolved.

Add your oils and food colouring, if using, to the bottom of your heat proof jars, for me this recipe filled 2 small mason jars, add your liquidand stir stir stir.

Let sit for a few hours in a cool place until set, (It was a very warm day when I made them so it took around 5 hours)

They will turn out very gell-y, but not quite as stiff as jello. If you’d prefer to use more gelatin then they will set up a little bit thicker. Personally,I would rather save the extra gelatin for another batch, and live with the fact that these fresheners wiggle a little bit :)

*note: you can use plain boiling water here and add chamomile oil instead, I didn’t have the oil so I opted for tea.

*note: The amount of oils you use will depend on the size of the room you are trying to freshen-up. I used 15 drops of lavender oil per jar for her small closet like room (only one of the jars is in her room), and this presented a very very soft fresh aroma. If you want to walk into a room and immediately be hit in the face with lavender, I would suggest using more.

air freshner

Let me know if you try it, and whats’s YOUR favourite air freshener flavour?

Leave a Reply

